Cute young girl smiling with open book balanced on her headThe Delaware Head Start Association is a membership association, comprised of child care service providers who offer Head Start (HS) or Early Head Start (EHS) services or participate in the Early Childhood Assistance Program (ECAP).

We also welcome other organizations and individuals who have an interest in strengthening Delaware’s early care and learning service environment.


The organization is governed by an independent board of directors composed of Association members, child care professionals and other interested members of the larger community.

Current members of the Board of Directors include:

  • Heidi Beck, President
  • Clara Martinez, President-Elect
  • Aisha Ferrell, Vice President
  • Sheila Berkel, Secretary
  • Sus Frederick, Treasurer
  • Janet Cornwell
  • Shysheika Edwards
  • Cynthia Hall-Gibbs
  • John Fisher-Klein
  • Karen Hartz
  • Imani Lawson
  • Antoine Oakley
  • Karen Pierce
  • Debra Taylor (ex officio)
  • Verna Thompson

For more information on DHSA or to attend a board meeting, please contact

Strategic Priorities

Our work is guided by the following strategic priorities:

  • To ensure high quality and relevant professional development opportunities for HS/EHS/ECAP programs.
  • Be a strong voice for high quality early care and education in Delaware that is grounded in the principles and values of Head Start
  • To grow a strong and engaged community of HS/EHS/ECAP program providers, families, supporters and allies.
  • To ensure strong and effective governance through on-going investment in board development.
  • To generate revenues that are sufficient to support and grow the mission and work of the Association.